I want my future to find me, Not my past.


Dance Academy quotes

“Every dancer knows that being technically perfect isn’t enough. We need to know why we dance. For me it’s to be connected. I’m inspired by my friends.” 

“Its usually fear that stops you from trusting your partner, unless they have dropped you before, then its a learning experience.” 

“Its everybody’s dream, No one is going to hand it to you. You have to prove that it is special to you.” 

“You think its one moment that grows you up when really its a thousand moments and when it happens, there’s no turning back.” 

“The odds were in my favor because I now have more than a best friend, I have a sister, one who I would trust with my life.” 

“I think that’s why we do trust exercises because most of the time, the problem isn’t only with the other person. The hardest part of pas de deux is trusting yourself to trust someone else. You need someone there to steady you, to put their faith in you.”

“Last summer when I came home from the academy for the holidays, I discovered that my mom had given away most of my old toys away. She couldn’t understand why I was so traumatised. From her point of view, it wasn’t part of my life anymore. It was time to move on. But when you’re an only child, your toys becomes your friends and I wasn’t ready to move on.” 

“Success is 90% hard work and 10% raw talent.” 

“You can’t stay blaming the world , Else the world wins…” 

“I want my future to find me, Not my past.” 

“Sometimes you don’t know something is broken until its too late to ever be put back together again. You can paper over the cracks but you know they’re there waiting to find you out.” 

“My grandfather used to say, the only reward for a good life is a good life. Its your duty to work hard, right whatever wrongs you had and make it count.” 

x_0ea29460

“You need someone there to steady you, to put their faith in you, so you can be extraordinary.” 

“The key to happiness is having something to do, having something to love, and having something to dream about.” 

“I don’t know why we have to pretend we don’t care about not winning. We should get to celebrate the victories and be disappointed when you lose something that matters. Because its honest and then you can move on, realising that no win can feel avoided and no loss can hurt you, unless you let it.” 

“Sometimes there’s nothing left to say. You only want to be left alone and the only person you want to hear from is silent..” 

“I don’t know why I do it, why I mess up what I want the most. I need to learn to be brave, to stand up and say what I want. Even if it is just admitting it to myself. Because that’s the only way I’m ever going to get it.”

“The thing about fear is that you can run from it. You can pretend it doesn’t exist but at some point, it will always find a way to catch up to you. I guess that’s why people go swimming with sharks and jump out of planes, Why they fall in love because the only way to conquer fear, Is to live dangerously – To stare it in the face..” 

“Dreams are complicated. I forget they only one third of the happiness puzzle. Sometimes i’m running after my dreams so fast i missed the detours that leave me to places new and unexpected. That doesn’t mean i’m going stop dreaming. Without them I’ll be lost, because there’s nothing more magical then when you catch one and get to hold it in your hands for one perfect moment.”

graceandsammy

“Sometimes “Perfect” isn’t what we want and sometimes it can make us selfish and let other people down.” 

“Hip Hop, It’s not about steps and It’s not about technique. I don’t want you to be perfect I want you to be real.” 

“Wanting to dance isn’t enough to make you dancers. Get your head out of the clouds and start thinking critically. You have to face your physical limitation, not everyone is meant to be a dancer. Prepare yourself for a lifetime of hard-work, sacrifice and more often than not – disappointment.” 

x_0e9ff0a1

“As dancers we learn to be in control of our bodies down to the last millimeter, because if even one finger is out of alignment, it all falls apart, so you practice movements until they’re perfect. You learn to control gravity, to control pain, and refuse to let yourself get away with anything. But there’s one thing that doesn’t follow the rules, that you wish you could control but can’t – your heart.”

“So, apparently there is this basic human reaction to fear. It’s called the fight or flight response. When something scares us our first response is to run, very fast, in the opposite direction. The second response is actually much harder. It’s where you ignore every instinct and instead of running you stay and fight.” 

 

4 thoughts on “I want my future to find me, Not my past.

  1. Pingback: Homepage

  2. Hi! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that
    would be ok. I’m absolutely enjoying your blog and look forward
    to new posts.

Leave a Reply

